Troy Public Library

Your Partner in Creating a Vibrant and Prosperous Community

Youth eResources

BookFlix (MeL)
For beginning readers. An interactive experience that allows beginning readers to explore fiction and non-fiction designed to increase understanding and fluency. Increase comprehension and have fun at the same time.

Brainfuse
Live homework help in math, science, English, and social studies available for students in 3rd through 12th grades. Tutors are available 7 days a week from 2pm-11pm. If you are a first time user, click here to download the Brainfuse Quick Connect software. For Brainfuse frequently asked questions, click here

eBook K-8 Collection (MeL)
Beginning Readers: Fiction and nonfiction books you can read online, for school and for fun. Picture books, homework topics, languages learning, and online help available.

eLibrary (MeL)
Reference information from select magazines, books, newspapers, TV transcripts, pictures, and maps for students grades 7 and up.
 
eLibrary Elementary (MeL)
Reference information from select magazines, books, newspapers, TV transcripts, pictures, and maps for K-6 students. 

FreedomFlix (accessing within Library)
FreedomFlix (accessing outside Library)
FreedomFlix brings history to life for kids by capturing the dramatic and defining moments in American history.

Kids InfoBits (MeL)
Covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. For elementary students. Learning Express Library (MeL)

Comprehensive practice tests and tutorial course preparation for academic or licensing tests. Provides immediate scoring and complete answer explanations.

Michigan Online Resources for Educators
Provides easy access to K-12 education related Web resources that have been carefully evaluated for quality, relevance, and effectiveness.

NoveList K-8 Plus
Use this comprehensive reading resource to find information about fiction and non-fiction titles for younger readers.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (MeL)
Features magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, topic overviews, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.

PebbleGo
Check out this great new youth database.

Powerpack Junior Edition (MeL)
Variety of magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. For students in junior high and middle school.

Powerpack Student Edition (MeL)
Variety of magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. For high-school students.

SIRS Discoverer (MeL)
Articles for children selected from more than 1000 magazines, newspapers, and government documents. Click on the Discoverer Webfind link to find web sites suitable for children in grades 1-9.

Student Resource Center – Junior
Covers core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and provides reference material, more than 340 periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia. For middle school students.

TrueFlix (accessing within Library)
TrueFlix (accessing outside Library)
This award-winning resource helps students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of subject-area content, and cultivate 21st Century skills through the inquiry process. 

World Book Online
Online version of the popular World Book Encyclopedia, geared toward students, teachers, and families. Also includes World Book Info Finder, and World Book Reference Center.